Writing Contest and NaNoWriMo

So October and November were some pretty exciting months this year. I have been lax on my blog posts. Hope y’all can forgive me. Not only have the last few months been exciting, but also terribly busy.

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 10.11.16 PM

Not only have I been working hard on getting the last of the Decimus Trilogy books out on Kindle, I’ve been working at getting the print version available too. I plan to have it out by the end of the year. The print copy will include all three stories: The Beast of Verona, Amber Ashes, and Saving the Beast all in one volume. Looks like it’ll turn out to be 400 pages of awesome storyline, filled with werewolves, romance, and some introspective discovery. For more info on what I’m talking about, visit the special page for “The Decimus Trilogy” here on my blog. There you’ll find links to the eBooks on Amazon and Kindle Unlimited, the book blurb, “Story Behind the Story” and a book trailer! Go check it out! And I’ll be sure to let everyone know when the print book is available.

Not only is The Decimus Trilogy in the works, but I’ve got two other eyes on my stove hot and going.

Twitter is a wonderful promotion tool, not only for authors, but for publishers as well. I first found SolaFide Publishing on Twitter when they followed my account. I decided to check them out and saw they were holding a writing contest. I thought “What the heck, why not?”. So I took a manuscript that is very near and dear to my heart, entitled “Enigma”. It’s the first book I ever wrote with a solid outline, but it took the longest to write. I started it in 9th grade and finally finished in October of 2014. I even wrote a screen play to accompany it. This story is what started my passion for writing supernatural romance. Before Twilight was a thing, I wrote Enigma. If it wasn’t for Enigma, The Decimus Trilogy, as well as dozens of other novels in the works would not currently be in the waiting queue.

So, I decided to put my baby on the altar as an offering and I wasn’t disappointed. Two weeks after the contest closed, I got an email with a review attached. The judges loved it! They had many nice things to say about this story of a young girl finding her purpose in life and discovering what being part of a true family means. I was brought to tears over all the wonderful things they said. For the contest, there would be 5 finalists and out of that group, a grand prize winner would be chosen. A finalist won a free eBook and print book cover for their manuscript, but the grand prize winner would win a free publishing package from SolaFide Publishing.

EnigmaPrintCover

I am thrilled to announce that I was one of the finalists. I didn’t win, but the guy who did win seems like a very talented writer. Not bitter or disappointed at all. In fact, when his book is published, I’d love to read a copy. It looks great. You can learn about it on SolaFide’s blog at “THIS LINK“. So, just above this paragraph, you can check out the cover I won, along with a little blurb about the novel.

I will be publishing Enigma sometime in 2016 for sure. It’s a doozy of a tome, though. In print, at 6 inches by 9 inches for a cover, it’s going to be about 800 pages. The story is able to be sectioned off into 3 parts, which would make each part about average novel length. So, I just need to decide if I’m doing that or not, as well as having SolaFide Publishing take care of the editing for the manuscript (because heaven knows it needs it and I don’t want to do it). Will keep everyone updated on Enigma’s progress.

But before I can even think about getting Enigma set up for publishing, I’ve got one other book in the works that has been a bit of a stretch for me.

November was a fun month. Not only is it my birthday month, but it is also National Screen Shot 2015-11-19 at 11.46.37 PMNovel Writing Month. For anyone who is familiar with the writing world or has friends who are, you know this is always a fun and challenging time for us. The NaNoWriMo challenge is to write 50,000 words in the span of 30 days. We create a novel on their website and (ideally) daily update our word count as we plow through the process of writing a decent first draft of a novel. Not to toot my own horn, but I knocked it out by the 19th. Diligence, perseverance, and lots of coffee are the keys to winning NaNoWriMo. As a winner, I get a bunch of goodies from sponsors for NaNoWriMo, including a 50% off code for Scrivener. I’m toying around with the program right now and will most likely blog about it later. I’m just testing the waters right now to see if it’s worth my time.

So, what did I write about you ask? I wrote about a girl writing a novel about a girl writing a novel who falls in love with a vampire living in her basement… I can tell I probably lost you a few times in that sentence so let me elaborate.

12113418_10205273240332955_5267686150495960366_oChloe returns to her childhood home after her aunt passes away to claim a cabin in the mountains that has been passed down through the family for generations. In fact, her ancestors were some of the founders of Carter Lake, Georgia. Leaving her big city life in Atlanta, Chloe hopes to finally pursue her life long dream of becoming a writer. With the secluded cabin as her base of operations, she’s eager to start her new life. But she’s rattled by some rumors in town that her cabin is haunted. The rumors are confirmed when she finds a beautifully hand written note critiquing her latest novel in progress. Thinking that this is an intruder, she takes extra measures to secure her home. But the letters keep coming. Under the impression that her secret correspondent is a ghost, she does a little research and finds out a man by the name of Gavin lived in the cabin before her family, and possibly built the original structure. One night, after taking a bad tumble outside of her cabin, she meets Gavin in person. But he is anything but a ghost. He’s very real and very much a vampire living in the basement under her home. As she comes to know Gavin on a personal basis, she learns that he is not an evil vampire like in the movies, but one that abhors his own existence and wants his humanity back more than anything. Also, he was once an aspiring author, just like her. Together, they strive to cure Gavin of his vampirism and make sure her first novel is a best seller.

I’m now at 68k words and I’m STILL not done. I will say, though, I’ve got a good chunk complete. If I can keep my wordiness down to a minimum, this manuscript may be suitable for literary agents and publishers to take a look at. However, if it breaches 100k words, it’s toast and I’ll end up self-publishing it. Yes, most literary agents and publishers will not accept manuscripts longer than 100k words. Some won’t even bother with novels that are over 80k words. It’s sad, especially for a writer like myself who can crank out 188k, 123k, and 230k word stories that can’t be split up into different parts. And even if they can be, some publishers won’t take a series like that in one sitting. Thank God for self-publishing.

Passions has been a stretch for me because I don’t particularly care for vampires and this will be the only novel I ever write where the main conflict includes a vampire. I have vampires featured in other books, but they aren’t in the lime light like Gavin is. Also, I’m writing strictly from the female’s perspective. It’s harder than it sounds.

So, I think that’s an adequate explanation for my absence on my blog as of late. The night journalingwritingbookscreativetypecreativitywriter-f4889e1a020215c95fd93e7f96bf8c3a_his young and there is plenty more to write. I’ll post again soon. Until then, happy writing and I hope everyone reading this has a wonderful holiday season with their families. God bless!

P.S – If you’re wondering who does my FABULOUS cover art, wonder no more! Her name is Angela Quincoces Rivera at http://www.dream-designz.com. She’s an immensely talented woman. She turned out the covers for the Decimus Trilogy, Escape, and Passions. She’s also working on a few more covers for me and has already made a few more for future projects. I couldn’t make my books look good without her.

This entry was posted in Book Updates, General Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

