My drives…

Others drown their sorrows in drinks
I ditch mind on the blacktop
I’ve got gas and rubber to burn
And miles to shred beneath me
I pick 85, north or south
Or 90, east or west
And I ride until the pain goes away
I drive faster than my racing thoughts
Just to try and clear my head
I let passion and emotion pour from my soul
Spilling from my mouth and over the steering wheel
Singing louder than the voices
Of fear and doubt that ride shotgun
They like to backseat drive
But I don’t push those limits
And I keep it between the lines
AC’s up on full blast
To freeze the tears streaming down my cheeks
The headlights blaze the trail before me
They shine into the dark fog of my future
I may not know where I’m going
But I know what I’m leaving behind
When I feel half way sane again
I make that sharp U-turn to head back
Slinging my troubles off the hood
Like a box of rotting trash
I lose so much on that ride
But when I pull back into home
I know I’ve found much more

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

