Keeping Perspective

I just had to take a moment to tell about what I’ve been thinking about for most of the week. It’s about keeping perspective as a writer and a published author.

I published my first novel about a month ago on Amazon Kindle. You can find a link to it on its book page on this blog or on my website. Ever since it became live and available for purchase, much of my thoughts have been consumed by promoting the book and finding new ways to make sure everyone knows about it and they are telling everyone they know. I’ve spent evenings watching tutorial videos, doing research and thinking about how it’s doing – sales wise. In that time, I’ve had new ideas for books and I’ve worked at developing them too, along with thinking about editing my novella “Escape”. I’m also in the process of editing “The Rose” which was the first novel I completed and half of it will need to be re-written. Anyway, apart from all of this, I realized something that upset me.

It happened when I was writing an email to my grandmother about my published book. Before “The Princess and Her Rogue” was published, I sent her a few chapters of it to read and she was the first person to read anything of the novel besides myself. In the woman e-mailingemail, I kept saying “When I have the time I’m going to…” and “When I can get around to it, I’ll…” and an even more frightening thing I said was “When things settle down around here, I’ll…”. I stopped writing when the thought hit me. When will I have time? When will things settle down? When will I get around to doing this? Most of it pertained to writing and editing, not just household duties. Which, by the way, I have been focusing on a lot after this big move we had. The house is pretty much in order too, except for the fact that my husband needs to hang the curtains, but I digress.

So, it occurred to me that I was spending so much time focusing on promoting the book and planning the other books, that I have forgotten about my other goals. Promoting the book I’ve published is a good idea. After all, I want it to sell and get people to read my story. And yes, planning out more books is great because then I’ll never be without something to write (I’ve got over 60 stories in the making at the moment). But what about “Escape”? I want to edit it so I can publish it and get more books out there. “Escape” is a slightly different genre than “The Princess…” and it could reach a wider audience so I could become more noticed. And what about “The Rose” and “Enigma”? I need to get the ball rolling on those editing projects too because they too, are very different than the previously mentioned novels. But I’ve been so worked up about getting the word out about “The Princess…” that I’ve all but forgotten about the other things.

Now, don’t get me wrong. It’s not like I’ll totally drop the campaign of getting this first book on the charts. But it made me realize how important it is to keep perspective. If I keep focusing on the one book, I’ll never move onto the next. My stories are my children. I’ve heard many artists say that about their work and I think that applies to me as well. Think of “PR” as one of my children and “Escape”, “Enigma”, “The Rose”, “Clouds” and all the others as children as well. I’m spending so much time with “PR” and pampering it, spoiling it, talking it up over my other novels, that it will become a case of child abuse to just completely ignore the others. “Sorry ‘Escape’, I can’t play with you today because I need to take ‘PR’ to practice so it will become a famous book someday. But I’ll play with you tomorrow” and then tomorrow never comes.

I don’t think I’ll be able to have a sharp turn around in my actions, but my thinking is there as far as making sure I’m keeping a good balance of promoting the published works and working towards getting more books published. It’s like sending one kid off to college at a time. I hope I’ll have an empty house one of these days.

This entry was posted in Writing Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

